9 Different Types of Okada Riders You will Encounter in Lagos

Esther Adeniji
6 min readFeb 1, 2023

--

Hi there! I’m back with another episode of my Lagos adventure…Lol.

This time, I’m going to be sharing my experience with the type of Okada riders I have encountered in this busy state. I hope you find this entertaining.

Now let’s get started.

Okada Riders

Motorcyclists, popularly known as Okada or Bike Riders are found in almost every state in Nigeria. In Lagos, they can be found in many rural areas on the Mainland. Most times, Lagosians tend to take bikes to escape the traffic or reach destinations that aren’t motorable. This makes this system of transportation quite popular in the state.

The recent ban placed on them by the state government in 2022 has stopped Okada Riders from operating on the Island and major roads. So if you stay in a “tush” part of the state, you are likely not to relate to this story.

By the way, this piece is dedicated to a reader, Morooph Babaranti, thank you for suggesting this topic. I hope you find it interesting.

9 Different Types of Okada Riders You will Encounter in Lagos

1. The Storytellers

Oh yeah, I believe a good way for Nollywood script writers to save cost and time is to directly interview Okada riders and they will have different episodes of interesting stories to tell. The Storytellers wait for you to get on the bike and then start to share different stories with you and expect you to share your opinions too.

I believe the most annoying thing about this set of Okada riders is that no one hears the story. I mean you are on the road, in a noisy environment, with your high speed, and you expect me to hear whatever complaints or gists you have to share with me. Well, to not make them feel ignored, I often just nod or respond with “hmmm,” “as in,” “yes o,” wow,” and any supportive statement I could think of at the time.

2. The Ghost Riders

If you do not know how to balance on a bike, then you should probably avoid this type of Okada rider. Oops! I forgot, you never can tell which one falls into this category until you get on the bike. So keep praying you don’t have to patronize this type of Okada rider.

The ghost riders do not see their bike as a “regular motorcycle,” they picture themselves as an immortal on a power bike. They love driving fast, drifting on major roads, and competing with vehicles on the road. If you find yourself on their bike, the best thing to do is to either beg them to stop you so you can get down, or grab the back of the bike firmly because careless driving is in their DNA.

3. The Former Corporate Workers

This set of Okada riders are the polite ones, they are open to having decent and warm conversations with their passengers. They always talk about how they once had a white-collar job but eventually had to quit to start their okada business. Some of them are optimistic and will convince you that Okada riding is a good and profitable business, while others will choke you with complaints about how they are being heavily tasked by “agberos,” their union, and other government officials assigned to regulate transport activities in Lagos.

4. The Complainers

Conversations with this set of Okada riders always revolve around blame. From blaming the federal government for economic crises to blaming the state government for bad roads to blaming their wife/partner for cheating them, etc. they keep blaming everyone. Sometimes, I feel like reminding them to focus on their life but then, I don’t want to get blamed for not minding my business too.

5. Those Who Never Have Change

The time of the day does not matter to them, they will always tell you they don’t have any change so make sure you are with the right amount before you climb on their bike to avoid embarrassment when you get to your destination.

6. The Admirers

I kind of like this set of Okada riders because patronizing them is usually fun. They would compliment your looks and even try to get friendly by getting to know you. But remember to be careful with whatever information you are giving them about you. Meeting this type of rider can help cheer you up, especially when you are just recovering from the mental stress of spending hours inside traffic.

7. The Enemies of Water

I know you want me to use that word but I’d rather go with the phrase “the enemies of water” because I have finally concluded that this set of riders do not like water and might be allergic to body sprays and roll-ons. However, here is a simple tip from me to you; ensure to use your nose mask whenever you meet them to avoid being choked to death with bad breath and body odor. You are welcome lol.

8. The JJCs

As much as meeting with the Johnny Just Come (a Nigerian street slang for someone who recently relocated to a place) might sound like a fun experience, it can also be a risky one. The JJCs are those riders who are new to town, they have zero knowledge about any location and of course as smart Lagosians and great businessmen that they have pictured themselves to be, they will never let you know they do not know your destination.

So in case you do not know where you are going, ensure you ask the riders well at the park or better still get descriptive information about major landmarks in your destination from a trusted source before you take okada.

9. The Phone Call Operators

The phone call operators are always having a call right after you get on their bikes. Not before, not after, but immediately they start the journey! I feel this is a very insensitive and risky thing to do. Sadly, most of them will not agree with you when you try to correct them.

Endnotes

Here are the nine categories of Okada riders I have come across in Lagos. Do you also have similar experiences like this? If yes, kindly share in the comment section below.

Thank you for reading!

You can also reach out to me on;

LinkedIn: EstherAdeniji

Twitter: @boluadeniji

Email: estheradeniji974@gmail.com

--

--

Esther Adeniji

Hello there, welcome to my page. I am Esther, a Creative, Budding Product Manager & Designer. I share beautiful and impactful stories about my experiences here.